Climate Advisory Committees

Workplace Climate Advisory Committees (WCAC)

We are committed to advancing the workplace and learning climate in the College of Natural Sciences.

This commitment is an integral component spanning our core missions to: 1) foster scientific discovery, 2) disseminate knowledge of these discoveries, and 3) provide a rigorous and innovative scientific education for all. We affirm that our collective achievements will be the greatest in an environment where each member of our community has the opportunity to reach their full potential.

In order to proactively address our commitment to inclusiveness and respect for diversity, each department and program within CNS has created an advisory committee on workplace climate for their unit. The goals of these committees include monitoring the status of their climate, assessing current norms and practices that influence inclusivity, and developing suggestions of best practices to positively advance the unit beyond its current position. Each advisory committee is composed of faculty, staff, and students (both graduate and undergraduate). One member from each advisory committee serves on the CNS college-level committee, to advise the Dean and provide leadership in advancing this mission. 

The primary contacts from each area are listed below and welcome your participation in this effort.   

Name Email Department
Stephen Schneider ses@astro.umass.edu Astronomy
Laura Francis  lif@bio.umass.edu Biology
Megan West mcwest@umass.edu Biochem. and Molec. Biology
Beth Armour barmour@cns.umass.edu C.A.F.E.
Ricardo Metz rbmetz@chem.umass.edu Chemistry
Michael Roberts mdroberts@umass.edu Environmental Conservation
John Gibbons jggibbons@umass.edu Food Science
Sarah McKnight sarah.v.mcknight@gmail.com Geosciences
Adriane Lam arlam@geo.umass.edu Geosciences
Andrea Nahmod nahmod@math.umass.edu Math and Statistics
Kristen DeAngelis deangelis@microbio.umass.edu Microbiology
Ben Brau  bbrau@physics.umass.edu Physics
Alex Ribbe aeribbe@polysci.umass.edu Polymer Sci. and Engineering
Elizabeth (Lisa) Harvey eharvey@psych.umass.edu Psych. and Brain Sciences
Marco Keiluweit keiluweit@umass.edu Stockbridge
Sue Marston smarston@umass.edu Vet. and Animal Sciences