CNS Women in Science Initiative

The CNS Women in Science Initiative (WISI) focuses on increasing the success of women scientists at all stages of their academic careers. WISI offers special programs and events, and connects women scientists through campus organizations and community outreach, and provides helpful off-campus resources for women scientists.

Susan Krauss Whitbourne, Psychological and Brain Sciences, and her research finding the midlife crisis notion to be a myth, are the focus of an article in the Daily Mail.

Pamela H. Loring, Environmental Conservation doctoral candidate, uses nanotechnology radio tracking tags to gather information about terns living at the Monomoy National Wildlife Refuge on Cape Cod. Wicked Local Truro

Carolyn and Nancy DeMoranville, sisters who work at the UMass Amherst cranberry station, were profiled in a feature article. Carolyn has served as the station’s director since 2002, and Nancy is a technician combatting predatory weeds at the bog. They are the daughters of the station’s former director, Irving DeMoranville, who died in 1998.

Magdalena Bezanilla and doctoral candidate Shu-Zon Wu, both Biology, present a detailed new model that for the first time proposes how plant cells precisely position a “dynamic and complex” structure called a phragmoplast at the cell center during every division and how the plant directs cytokinesis, as reported in the journal eLife., Bio-Medicine, Science Codex, Nanowerk,, Science Daily, Science Newsline, News release

Elizabeth (Betsy) R. Dumont, Biology, and colleagues have received a five-year, $1.91 million grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to study how bats sense their environment and other individuals, including potential mates, in order to ensure survival and reproduction. News release