College Committees

The Curriculum Committee provides direction on all college-wide curriculum issues and proactively considers improvements in the college learning environment. The CC reviews all course proposals and degree requirements before they can be submitted to the Faculty Senate. Each department appoints a representative ( Curriculum Committee Roster). Submit new course proposals to the Associate Dean, Jack Wileden - wileden [at] cns [dot] umass [dot] edu.

The College Personnel Committee is the college-level peer review committee on faculty personnel actions including appointments with tenure, reappointment through the tenure decision year, tenure and promotion.

The Faculty and Staff Awards Committee identifies faculty and staff winners of the CNS Outstanding Adviser, Teacher, Research, and Service/Outreach, and Support Awards. See guidelines below. Committee members are appointed by the Dean. Contact Amanda Leigh- Hawkins at aleigh [at] cns [dot] umass [dot] edu for more information.

The Conti Fellowship Committee reviews nominations from Departments of faculty who might be eligible for a UMass Amherst Samuel F. Conti Faculty Fellowship Award, according to university guidelines, and advises the Dean on the selection up to four candidates, whose nomination packages are then forwarded to the Research Council. Committee members are appointed by the Dean. Nomination materials are due in the Dean's office by the second Monday in January.

The Undergraduate Scholarships Committee identifies students who might be eligible for scholarships and awards that are available on a competitive basis from college and national sources, including Goldwater Scholar nominees and all CNS-sponsored scholarships. Each department appoints a representative. Chair: Martha Baker - mbaker [at] cns [dot] umass [dot] edu.

The Distinguished Professorships Committee for CNS Faculty Appointments to Distinguished/Named Professorships considers and makes recommendations on proposals and files submitted for review. Committee members must hold the rank/title of Distinguished Professor and serve at the request of the Dean. All committee recommendations go forward to the Dean for his/her recommendation.