UMass Amherst was ranked eighth in agricultural sciences among 500 research universities worldwide, according to Best Global Universities, a report released today by U.S. News & World Report. The university was also ranked 32nd in space science, 73rd in environment/ecology, and 115th overall. News release

Four panelists discussed “The Ebola Epidemic: How We Got Here, Current Preparedness, and Future Outlook” on Tuesday, Oct. 28 in the Campus Center Auditorium. The speakers were Martha Anker of the School of Public Health and Health Sciences; George Corey, executive director and medical director, University Health Services; Donna Gallagher, founding codirector, UMass Medical School Office of Global Health; and Alpha Kabinet Kaba of the Pioneer Valley Performing Arts Charter Public School, a native of Guinea whose family has been affected by the Ebola outbreak. Wilmore Webley, Microbiology, an expert in infectious disease and immunology, was the moderator. News and Observer, WFXT-TV 25,, WCVB-TV 5, MyFoxDFW, WGGB-TV 40, WWLP-TV 22, WSHM-TV 3, News release

Heather N. Richardson, Psychological and Brain Sciences, and colleagues have found that binge drinking can have lasting effects on brain pathways that are still developing during adolescence, as reported in The Journal of Neuroscience. WBUR-FM,,,, Science Codex, Business Standard, Times of India, Yahoo News Malaysia, Nature World News, Animal Laboratory News, The Health Site,,,, Science Daily,, New England Public Radio, Sify News, Science Newsline, News release

Donald F. Towsley and Ramesh K. Sitaraman, both from the School of Computer Science, and colleagues have received a four-year, $2.4 million National Science Foundation grant to study what they call the Internet content ecosystem, and to invent new architectural and algorithmic mechanisms to better coordinate the way content is delivered to users., ECN magazine, News release

Wilmore C. Webley, Microbiology, was interviewed by The Republican about the current outbreak of Ebola in West Africa.